SoCS Meets #frapalymo Day 14 – Memories Merge Into Now

IMG_1039

Memories Merge Into Now

Walking along the dusty path
As it climbs its winding way
Up the mountainside

Each bend is a memory
Images coming back in
Hazy, photographic quality

The farther I walk
The harder it gets
Steeper and steeper

I stop and rest against a tree
Pausing a moment to remember
The long ago walk

Other travelers tell me
β€œYou’re almost there”
As I take a deep breath and struggle on

I finally reach the place
I’ve been longing to see
But memories fade

The indescribable beauty
Fills my soul and I sit
Staring at the beauty
Of the lake nestled
At the top of the mountain
Memories merge into the
Peaceful now


I wasn’t planning on combining these two today, but sometimes it just happens without you even realizing. The really cool thing is that I didn’t edit anything! This poem came straight out of my head and onto paper. The prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “indescribable” and the prompt for #frapalymo is “pieces of memory.”

I went on a hike with my Dad when I was in my late teens and I’ve been longing to go back ever since. Every year, I said I would go, but every year came and went without taking the hike. I finally decided to go by myself this year and hiked all the way to the top of a trail that leads to Lake Blanche. The picture was taken while I sat on a rock eating some much needed food. It was more beautiful than my memories and I’m so happy I can share it with you. I hope you enjoy!

6 thoughts on “SoCS Meets #frapalymo Day 14 – Memories Merge Into Now

Leave a Reply

